SSA Gallery

The Society of Scottish Armigers
Home > Thistle Officers
Click to view full size image
01. Thistle Officers
Officers of the Most Ancient and Most Noble Order of the Thistle

The Order of the Thistle pertains to Scotland and is the personal gift of the Sovereign.
It was founded in 1687 and has 16 Member Knights and Ladies plus a few Extra Knights and Ladies (Royal Family and Foreign Monarchs ).

Motto: Nemo me impune lacessit ( No one provokes me with impunity ).

The badge of the Order is the Thistle.

The current Sovereign of this Order is King Charles III

There are five officers of the Order, the officers and current holders are:

The Chancellor: The Duke of Buccleuch, KT, KBE, CVO, DL, FSA, FRSE

The Secretary: Elizabeth Ann Roads, LVO, OSt.J, LLB

The Dean: The Very Reverend Dr. David Alexander Fergusson, OBE, QHC, FBA, FRSE

Lion King of Arms: Reverend Canon Dr. Joseph Morrow, CVO, CBE, KStJ, QC, DL, FRSE

The Gentleman Usher of the Green Road: Rear Admiral C. H. Layman, CB, DSO, LVO

Please see their individual files.

2024 0107
SocScotArmigers2572~27.jpg 02____Queen_Elixabeth_-_HM.jpg SocScotArmigers2572~26.jpg 06____Morrow_-_Lion_KOA.jpg Buccleuch~0.jpg
Rate this file (current rating : 0 / 5 with 3 votes)